RSS

You can stick a dog in the oven, that doesn’t make him a biscuit

15 Sep

A rose by any other name is still a rose.  A social shyster is still…. You get the idea.  Just because we are on the net doesn’t absolve us from the responsibility to be accountable.  If anything it is just the opposite.One of the people I follow came up with a rather heartfelt offer on twitter – “What can I do for you, no really, I want to help. “  Having followed the guy for as long as I have I believe that he really meant it.  I responded with a fairly simple request regarding my personal passion (integrated marketing tactics for the sole-proprietor) and got no response.  It is understandable, considering the fact that he came from a big agency environment, but I was hurt.  Don’t ask me if you can help and then not even respond.  Even if the response was “sorry, I can’t help you on that” I would have appreciated an email or twitback.

One of the easiest pits to fall into on 2.0 is the illusion that we have to be all things to all people, and that the only place we can help is on the net.  Simple tactile things can still make a difference in RW.  Hold a door open for someone.  I went out to greet the UPS truck instead of waiting on my porch and you would have thought I had brought him a $20 dollar bill.  The things we do for other people in real-time can make us feel better about whom we are when we sit back behind our terminals.  When we remove the abstract that happens through an anonymous keyboard maybe we won’t feel quite so free about not answering someone, or yelping someone out.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,984 other followers

