RSS

Part 3: Now I am afraid of banks; my own, changing to a new one, the whole shot

07 Jan

I realize now how gun-shy I have become.

It is really getting easier and easier to visualize my Grandma stuffing bills in her cotton mattress and making the bed up with canvas so she can lace the thing shut in case of attack.  In the usual “wake up and face life’s terrors at 3:00 AM mode that besets many after the age of child bearing” it seemed more and more of an option to bury rounds of currency in coffee cans somewhere in the yard.  No, my street address is not available on my website.

After my recent identity theft scare ( see  last two blogs https://bayintegratedmarketing.wordpress.com/) things started to heat up a bit.
One of the accounts that might have been compromised has several thousands of dollars sitting in an investment account that is at present earning less than 1%APR. That’s not that uncommon, but there are accounts that produce more.  One such account, a highly regarded national brand, sent me an ad in the mail for just such an account.  Or did they?

How can I trust the logo on the envelope?  Forgers are getting so good (the fake McAfee scan on my computer freaked me out) that I don’t believe it.  I want to, but jeez!  Major financial institutions are not exempt from fraud.  What if they forged the Amex pre-paid postage logo in the upper right corner.  How would I know?

I tried all the standard safeguards, logged on through the AMEX homepage, used the URL they supplied in their letter but then a couple of the subgroups started with “ibanking” instead of AMEX.

Are the hackers still in my computer re-directing me to a bogus site so they can get me to transfer money into it?  It didn’t do me any good to call Chase when there happened to be a red flag with them so what makes me think the phone is safe.

I sent up my credit fraud alert with Equifax, but then they wanted a bunch of my security information over the phone too.  Is my phone tapped?

Are the North Koreans hacking into our financial systems so they can siphon off what money they can only to then turn our monetary system on its end by sending an electromagnetic pulse into the mainframes on wall street causing a financial catastrophe even the “W” administration couldn’t try to bail out?   (He DID start that boondoggle by the way, and then left “Hussein” holding the bag).

If I hadn’t gained so much weight over the holidays I would be tempted to start drinking heavily so I wouldn’t wake up at 3:00AM with these thoughts.  In the mean time, I think it’s time to grab the shovel!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,761 other followers

