RSS

Nobody in California Works Any More

13 Aug

IMG_1591I am so ready to move to the country.

With the interest rates low, the wife and I are thinking very seriously about purchasing a house it lower Washington State near Portland.  I’ve lived in California all my life, and in pretty sure I will miss the weather.

I can buy a Sun lamp.

We live in a cul De SAC,  a two bedroom unit in a triplex.  It might as well be an apartment building.  Nobody works in an office any more.  I can prove it, they are all out in the yards cause its nice out, but good freaking grief!

After my workout this lunch, I went to take some sun in the back patio.  First, there are currently three neighbors working on their homes.  One next door remodeling a bathroom, one across the street repairing to list the house, and another across the  street that has been having their front deck/patio worked on for the past 8 months.  No end in sight.

The next delight comes as the tenant next door opens her slider (literally 5 feet from my head) and takes 5 minutes to coax her new puppy to go potty.  Then the girlfriends next door, after parading up the driveway talking on their blue tooth for a half hour, somehow let their dog escape.  I had to wait a good ten minutes for Dylan to be captured and returned to captivity.  All of this, about 10 feet from me on the other side of the fence.

Forget the nap in the sunshine.

Oh did I mention that its garbage day?  We live in one of those special recycling zones where they have to send a separate truck to pick up the trash, recycling, and greens.

The afternoon holds forth a symphony of lawn blowers as no fewer than three separate gardeners take a total of about an hour and a half rotating internal combustion engines.  God forbid that they ever show up at the SAME FREAKING TIME !

I’m off to Starbucks where its actually relatively quiet.  Dreaming of Salmon Creek, right outside of Vancouver Washington.  Sunshine is highly over rated.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
