RSS

HOW THE HECK DO YOU SELL TO STARBUCKS?

07 Oct

0a799000d67844ffa039b5cf8e71466b       I have  been working with a start-up company now for about a year and a half.

Eco-Distribution, Inc.   Among our other offerings we have a line of truly Green Cleaning products that work better than their caustic counterparts, and are just as economical.

We have been successful in winning evaluations, and been escalated to corporate procurement in several very large and notable companies, and the orders are coming in.  There is one enigma, I truly could use some help with.  We have demonstrated these cleaning products to several local Starbucks, and the managers all get very excited.  I just talked to a regional manager in California and she agreed that they absolutely fit the Ethical, Sustainable, and Green goals of the Starbucks corporation.

She then told me that I had to go to Corporate, and there were no names she could give me to help.  I spent an hour on their website, and found all sorts of documents on Corporate Responsibility, Vendor Practices, Shipping Procedures… you get the idea.  Nothing on how to become a vendor.

starbucks

 

I tried customer service, and was on hold for a half hour to be told to call Corporate.  I called Corporate and was referred back to the customer service number.   Has anyone out there any knowledge of what the process REALLY is.  I mean, they have to buy cleaning materials from somewhere?   This stuff is a perfect fit, its new technology, and I know they can’t make it for themselves in China.

Help!!!!!

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “HOW THE HECK DO YOU SELL TO STARBUCKS?

  1. workinclassgal

    October 11, 2014 at 7:22 am

    Hi Steve – I’ve run into this problem before. Having said that, Starbuck’s website has to be the most expensive website that doesn’t actually say anything. My best success has been starting at the top and letting them kick me down the chain. I would start with John Kelly (http://www.starbucks.com/responsibility/global-report). Call his office, tell his secretary what you want, she’ll get a huffy tone most likely and then tell her you just don’t know who to call. She should give you another number or name. Then on the next call, you can say “John Kelly’s office recommended I reach out to you.” – and so on and so forth. Hope this helps. Good luck!

     
  2. workinclassgal

    October 11, 2014 at 7:23 am

    Also, I’ve never done this at Starbucks. My above post is based on past experience with other huge companies, not Starbucks specifically.

     

Leave a Reply

 
