RSS

Being The Boss

13 Sep

It’s hard being the boss of someone when you do the same job as them.  I’m learning this the hard way.  I understand why NG doesn’t look at me as her boss because we have a unique situation where I got promoted, yet I’m still doing reception.  Not many people have a position where their boss is doing their job until they come in, and covers their break.  At least, I don’t think a lot of people have experienced that.

It’s also hard being the boss of someone who has decided that she will be absolutely miserable the second she walks through the lobby doors.  NG has decided to no longer fake being a happy adult, but to just look and act miserable.  Don’t even ask her how her day is going unless you want to her to break it down of how awful her job is.

Being the only person in the entire office that knows what it’s like to be a receptionist and understand how painful and under appreciated it can be, you think she would look to me to guidance.  Nope.  She looks at me and doesn’t understand why I got a new title and why she has to be stuck at the desk.

Seriously?, I’ve been here for YEARS.  I’ve put my time in, and I have put up with a lot.  No body is going to promote a miserable person, and everyone can tell you’re not happy.  If you’re gonna be miserable, blog! Apparently 26 people out there love reading about some random girl’s bad day! 😉

Any who! In between of thinking what the heck I was going to do with this girl, and praying that she might quit, I was sitting at the front desk with Jim (who is still my buddy – which is still freaking me out…) a store manager who was visiting the home office came up to the desk and ask if she could ask me a question.  She overheard me answer the phone while she was in the lobby and noticed that I looked up a store’s phone number, gave a contact name, and seemed to  be an overly nice person to the caller.  Is this what I normally do with callers?

I explained to her that for the most part, I always try to get the caller the information they’re looking for, if it’s available to me.  Why.  What happened.

She laughed, no no, nothing.  Just wondering.

She lied.

She went on to talk about how she had called one day (and she knew the exact date and time because she was traveling and was in her car) and the girl who answered said that she wouldn’t look up a phone number for her, and that if she wasn’t looking for anyone in the corporate office she couldn’t help her.

EFFFF.

Now I have managers complaining about NG and how badly she sucks.  I look at Jim and he tells me I have to talk to NG, and if she doesn’t improve, I can write her up.  First of all, write her up? What the heck does that even mean?  This isn’t school.  And second, no no no! I don’t want to do this!!!

I send her a meeting request for later in the afternoon and she doesn’t accept.  She doesn’t say no, she just decided to completely ignore my email.  So I go out to the lobby and tell her Mark is going to cover the phones so we can chat.  We’ll have our first “one on one”.  Riiiight.

We get in the room and I immediately start talking about the conversation I had with the manager.  She lies and tells me maybe it was when we had a temp in.  I tell her no, she told me the date and time and that’s when you were up there.  NG, you can’t do that.  You’re a receptionist, it’s part of the job.

“ok” with a smirk on her face.

OK?? that’s all you have to say? I tell her that we’re a team and when one person isn’t doing what they’re supposed to, it looks bad on both of us.

“Yup, got it.”

I end the meeting and send her back to the lobby.  I come out of the room to Jim and Dee (my new team member), who were dying to know what happened.  When they saw NG looking all “whatever Ruby” and me looking pissed, they asked what happened.

I know I suck as a manager since I’ve never been one before, but c’mon!  TRY to help me out, NG!
Can’t she just be a normal employee and suck up to her boss??  Just bring me a coffee in the morning and everything will be a-ok! 😉

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
